Carryduff Ladies Win Senior Championship to Claim County Double

Carryduff Ladies Win Senior Championship to Claim County Double

Carryduff Senior Ladies travelled to Downpatrick on Saturday 9th September to face Bryansford knowing that victory would create team and club history. Having already secured a second Senior League title in as many years the second half of a county double would also mean a first Senior title for the north Down club in any code. No pressure then.

The Carryduff girls drew confidence from defeating their two nearest league rivals on route to the final, Bredagh in the quarter final and Castlewellan in the Semi Final. Bryansford had dispatched Annaclone and Burren on their way to the final. Carryduff made the only change to the starting line ups for the game with the in-form Emma Magee unluckily losing out through injury replaced by Claire Milburn.

Bryansford made it clear they had their own title ambitions with a direct ball to Natasha Ferris on the square who rounded Carryduff’s captain Laura Sharvin for an impressive goal after two minutes. Carryduff hit back quickly with Michelle Magee scoring a goal and two points to settle their nerves. Natasha Ferris hit back with another goal on the 7th minute with a solo run from further out the pitch. Emer McKay scored the 4th goal of the game for Carryduff in a pulsating opening 10 minutes. No sign of negative strategies and packed defenses in this final. 10 minutes in and scores were Carryduff 2-2 Bryansford 2-1

Carryduff’s full back line of Laura Sharvin, Niamh Price and Ciara Rooney were settling into the game now and with Eadaoin Early and Aimee Lavery covering back well were starting to limit Bryansford’s scoring opportunities. Keeper Suzie Baxter was providing quality long kick outs to Meghan Doherty and Kate McKay at Midfield.

County Minor and U16 team mates Niamh Napier (Carryduff) and Sarah Dougherty (Bryansford) were one of many interesting match ups on the field. Hannah Magorrian got the job of marking the talented U16 Bryansford forward Jayne Campbell with the former adding to Carryduff’s scoring threat with penetrating of runs from deep.

Both teams were to record 7 scores apiece in the first half but it was Northern International Footballer Jess Foy who did the damage for Carryduff bagging a hat trick of goals between the 14th and 24th minutes. Bryansford worked hard to keep in the game and finished the first half with the two more points from play.

Half Time Score Carryduff 5-2 Bryansford 2-5

Carryduff now playing with a slight breeze came out to take a grip of the game with two points and another goal from Jess Foy followed by a point from Michelle Magee.

Bryansford replied with three of the next four scores with some well taken frees by Down County player Grainne McClean.

Carryduff made it difficult for Bryansford to win their own kick out for much of the second half. Former county girl Meghan Doherty was now winning a lot of ball from re-starts helping Carryduff build a healthy lead. Half forwards Erin Robinson and Claire Milburn worked tirelessly to join the attack and cover back when needed. Mairead Kavanagh wasn’t giving up for Bryansford making several runs into the Carryduff half to help set up another point from Ferris.

Carryduff introduced substitutes Kathryn Rooney, Ciara Doherty, Donnla Fisher and current Minor players Oonagh Lavery and Orla Swail to help see the game out. Further points from Carryduff sisters Emer and Kate McKay and another from Michelle Magee saw the North Down team secure a first ever Senior Championship title.

Final Score – Carryduff 6-11 Bryansford 2-10

Carryduff Squad – Suzanne Baxter, Ciara Rooney, Laura Sharvin, Niamh Price, Niamh Napier, Eadaoin Early, Hannah Magorrian, Michelle Magee, Meghan Doherty, Erin Robinson, Kate McKay, Claire Milburn, Jessica Foy, Emer McKay, Aimee Lavery, Emma Magee, Donnla Fisher, Caoimhe Callaghan, Kathryn Rooney, Ciara Doherty, Oonagh Lavery, Orla Swail, Sarah Tunney, Beth O’Neill, Riona Hinds.

Bryansford Squad – Ciara Morgan, Kiara Cairns, Amy Nicholson, Ciara O’Higgins, Adele McGrattan, Cora McKibben, Natalie McKibben, Grainne McClean, Sophie Louise Clarke, Sarah Dougherty, Mairead Kavanagh, Jayne Campbell, Kathryn Ward, Natasha Ferris, Aimee O’Higgins, Molly Ward, Aislinn Thomson, Ciaren Owens, Meabh Anderson.