U12 Match Reports, 23rd April 2017

April 25th, 2017 | News

There was double delight for the Carryduff U12s on Sunday, with the squad recording impressive wins in both Divisions One and Two of the East Down League.

In Division One, Carryduff hosted Sabhaill Naomh Padraig and the home team ran up a big score. The Duff were on top from the first whistle, but a spirited Saul side made them work hard for their scores in the first half. Indeed, Carryduff put over ten points, with Oran Donaldson leading the way, before they scored their first two goals of the game as the half drew to a close.

Goals would be the theme of the second half as Saul tired in the face of a Carryduff onslaught and swift attacking and good support play set the scene for a host of goals from the likes of Oran McMeel, Eunan O’Hare, Niall O’Neill and Eoin Blaney.

The Carryduff performance was built upon a dominant midfield and when Saul did threaten; their attacks were quickly snuffed out by a watertight defence. Cillian Teague, Rory Hughes and their fellow defenders tackled well and won plenty of breaking ball in what was an impressive team display. Final Score: Carryduff 9-14 Saul 0-0.

A young Carryduff B side made the trip to Newcastle to play Bryansford B and they also recorded a notable win in an entertaining game. The first half was tight and evenly contested, but the ability of the Carryduff forwards to take a score saw them take a six point lead in to the break. The Duff built on this after the break with some great passages of play, with good passing and support play. The boys notched some lovely scores, with the ability of the midfield and half forwards to take a score on the run particularly pleasing on the eye. The defence worked and tackled hard to restrict their hosts at the other end as Carryduff ran out winners on a final score of Bryansford 1-3 Carryduff 1-14.

The whole squad can be pleased with their efforts on the day and will look forward to the tough tests that lie ahead.

Carryduff A v Saul: Matthew Tunney, Lorcan O’Hagan, Cillian Teague, Joseph Doherty, Rory Hughes, Ryan Sherry, Declan McArdle, Eoin Blaney, Cian Duffy, Jacob Dixon, Oran McMeel, Niall O’Neill, Oran Donaldson, Eunan O’Hare

Carryduff B v Bryansford B: Liam Blaney, Ronan Donaldson, Dara Cunningham, Finn Cunningham, Eoin McKernan, Cameron McClure, James O’Donnell, Rory O’Donnell, Michael Tinnelly, Jude Dixon, David Morrissey, Odhran Doherty